Keuka College President Joseph G. Burke and his wife, Professor and Chair of Education Diane Burke, will receive the 2010 Donald and Corrine Stork Award for Community Service.

They will receive the award Tuesday, Oct. 12 at a noon luncheon in the Geiser Refectory.

The Stork Award was established by Keuka College to recognize outstanding individuals who exemplify the College’s commitment of valuing individual initiative for the common good. The award was named after the first recipients of the award, Penn Yan residents Donald and Corrine Stork, in 1991.

Like the previous recipients, the Burkes have been highly involved in the community. For example, earlier this year they received the Seneca Waterways Council’s Distinguished Citizen Award from the Boy Scouts of America. The award recognizes citizens who make a difference in the lives of children and the community. In addition, the Burkes were joint recipients of the Catholic Charities of the Finger Lakes Spirit of Light Award.

Tickets for the event are $10 and may be reserved by contacting the Office of Alumni and Parent Relations at (315) 279-5238 or

Past Stork Award recipients include:

1991: Donald and Corinne Stork, Penn Yan.

1992: M. Camille Bloomquist, Keuka Park.

1993: Richard and the late Ruth Brow, Dresden.

1994: The late Bruce Hansen, Penn Yan.

1995: Taylor H. III and Linda Fitch (Keuka Class of 1969), Bluff Point.

1996: Evelyn and the late Norman Worth, Penn Yan.

1997: The late Cheryl Turner (Keuka Class of 1963 and 2004), Keuka Park.

1998: Thelma and the late Robert Flynn, Penn Yan.

1999: Gene F. Pierce, Dundee.

2000: The late Edith Calvin (Keuka Class of 1934), Clifton Springs.

2001: Edwin H. Worden, Penn Yan.

2002: Doug and Penne Marchionda, Penn Yan.

2003: The late Chester Culver, Bluff Point.

2004: Lucia Wheeler, Penn Yan.

2005: William and Delores Sutherland, Penn Yan.

2006: The late William Crain, Keuka Park.

2007: Keuka Comfort Care Home, Penn Yan.

2008: Les and Wanda Wood, Penn Yan.

2009: Helen Stewart, Penn Yan.