Mayor and three trustee seats will be on Penn Yan's ballot; two trustee seats will be up for grabs in Rushville, and one trustee seat will be up for election on March 20.

Correction: This version of the article correctly states that one of the seats up for election in Rushville is held by Mark Fargo. The previous version listed Charles Elwell in that seat. Fargo took the seat previously held by Elwell, who resigned from the board.  

Petition packets are now available at the Yates County Board of Elections for those people interested in running for office in the Village of Penn Yan. Three Village Trustee seats and the Village Mayor’s seat will be on the ballot March 20, 2018.

The trustee seats are currently held by William Allison, Carolyn Benedict, and David Reeve. The mayor’s office is held by Leigh MacKerchar. All terms are for four years. There are six trustees and a mayor in Penn Yan.

Independent nominating petitions can be circulated for signatures beginning Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018 and can be filed starting Tuesday, Feb. 6 at the Board of Elections between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., and must be returned or postmarked no later than 5 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 13.

The Board of Elections hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday to Friday. The office will be closed Dec. 25 and Jan. 1.

Potential candidates with questions may call the Yates County Board of Elections from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday at 315-536-5135.

Village elections will also be held next March in Dresden and Rushville.

In Dresden, one trustee seat with a two-year term, currently held by Colleen Riviello, is up for election. There are two trustees and a mayor in Dresden, where petitions can be picked up at the Village Office at 3 Firehouse Ave. from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays.

In Rushville, two trustee positions will be up for election. Terms for the two seats currently held by Mark Fargo and Kimberly Payne are for four years. Fargo filled the seat vacated when Charles Elwell resigned from the board. There are four trustees and a mayor in Rushville.

Petitions will be available in the Village office at 1 South Main Street, Rushville from Clerk-Treasurer Joanne Burley beginning Jan. 2, 2018. Phone: 585-554-3415 with any questions.

No offices in Dundee are up for election in 2018.