Dundee, Dresden have new mayors

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express

The villages of Dundee and Dresden  each have a new mayor following elections on March 18.

In Dundee,  where 269 voters turned out, Fred Cratsley Jr., a trustee, ousted incumbent Craig Prior for the mayor's seat. Cratsley received 158 votes and Prior received 112.

Greg Wright received the most votes of all the Dundee candidates, earning one of two available trustee seats with 212 votes. Warren Smith won the other seat with 177 votes.

With a last minute write-in campaign, Trustee Dana Gibson, who had previously decided to not seek re-election, earned 56 write-in votes and Prior earned 36 write-in votes for trustee.

In Dresden, Loujane Johns, running unopposed, received 30 votes for mayor. There were two write-in votes for Tim Chambers and one for Lee Rivera.

David Wernsing received 24 write-in votes for the trustee seat vacated by Ronald Merritt, who did not seek re-election. Tom McGuigan received two write in votes and Bill Updike, Ray Welker,

David Parkhurst and David Murray each received one write-in vote.

In Rushville, where three candidates were seeking two trustee seats, John Sawers, with  76 votes and Charles Elwell with 72 votes, were elected. Rainey M. Jones received 35 votes.