Gov. Andrew Cuomo requests federal disaster assistance for flooding

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express

Gov. Andrew Cuomo has requested that President Barack Obama declare a major federal disaster for New York State and 26 counties, including Yates, as a result of the severe rains and flooding that has occurred since April 26. The Governor has requested that Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsak issue a natural disaster designation.

The Governor is making the request for federal assistance based on the results of a rapid joint assessment, which he requested from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) on April 29. The FEMA-State teams estimate more than $38 million in infrastructure repair and debris removal across the state.

Based on that assessment, the Governor is seeking the implementation of FEMA's Public Assistance (PA) program for 21 counties. The PA program provides 75 percent federal reimbursement to municipalities for the costs of debris removal and emergency response actions as well as for repairs to public facilities. The 21 counties are Allegany, Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Herkimer, Lewis, Madison, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Steuben, Tioga, Ulster, Warren, and Yates.

Additionally, he is seeking the Individual Assistance program, which includes the Individuals and Households program, Other Needs Assistance program, disaster unemployment assistance, crisis counseling and the maximum allowable assistance to individuals and businesses from the Small Business Administration. The Governor is seeking this assistance for individuals and businesses impacted by the storms and flooding in these counties: Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Herkimer, Oneida, Onondaga, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Tompkins, Warren, Washington and Yates.