Penn Yan Mayor, trustees take oaths

Gwen Chamberlain
Penn Yan Mayor Leigh MacKerchar (middle, holding grandson Collin), was surrounded by his grandchildren when he took his oath of office from Justice Danny Hibbard (left) April 7. With him are: wife, Alice, holding Camden, Brady, Carter, Mason,Tyler and Morgan.

Surrounded by his grandchildren, Leigh MacKerchar took the oath of office as mayor of Penn Yan Monday afternoon, and after making some brief comments, called the 2014 organizational meeting to order.

MacKerchar said his grandchildren are a great incentive to do the work of the village. “Penn Yan is a great place as we all know,” he said, explaining his goal is to make the village a place where, if his grandchildren decide they want to settle here, they will be able to.

Before calling the meeting to order, he recognized the 200 or so board members, volunteers and village employees who provide services to the community.

Four others took their oaths as well — Trustees Robert Church, David Reeve, William Allison and Carolyn Benedict recited their oaths as administered by Village Justice Danny Hibbard.

Church, the former mayor, said his term was “very enjoyable.” He added, “I believe the Penn Yan residents are fortunate to have the employees we have here.” Church said he’s looking forward to the exciting projects getting underway in the village.

Trustee Rich Stewart presented a framed photograph of the village hall and fire house to Church as a gift from the village board members for his service.

In the organizational meeting, the board passed several resolutions and MacKerchar made several appointments, including:

• Re-appointments: William Allison, deputy mayor; Gary Meeks as village clerk/treasurer for two years; Deputy Clerks and registrars Robin Morse and Mary Ann Martin for two years; David Grace as acting village justice for one year; Code Enforcement Officer Bruce Lyon for two years.

• New appointments: The board approved several other committee and advisory board appointments, including former Trustee Ray Hamilton to the Municipal Utilities Board to replace MacKerchar, who resigned once he took the mayoral post.

• Committees: MacKerchar appointed the following committees: Finance & Administration: Bob Church (chair), Carolyn Benedict, Chris Christensen; Personnel: Benedict (chair), David Reeve, Christensen; Parks & Recreation: Richard Stewart (chair), William Allison, Church; Planning & Development: Reeve (chair), Stewart, Benedict; Public Safety: Christensen (chair), Allison, Stewart; Public Works: Allison (chair), Reeve, Church.