Two incumbents not returning to legislature

Staff Reports

Petitions have been filed with the Yates County Board of Elections for positions on party lines of the November ballot.There will be Republican primaries in three towns, and the public will see new faces in some positions.

Notably, Timothy Dennis and Elden Morrison are not seeking re-election to the Yates County legislature seats — Dennis in District 2 and Morrison in District 1. Italy Supervisor Margaret Dunn has not filed party petitions for that post.

Republican Primaries will be held in Barrington for two town council seats, Benton for the highway superintendent position, and Jerusalem for the supervisor post and for two town council seats.

The Primary Election will be held June 25.

Here is a rundown of those who have filed petitions:

Yates County positions:

Sheriff (4 years): Ronald G. Spike (Rep.)

Clerk (4 years): Lois E. Hall (Rep.)

Coroner (4 years): Kathy McGrath (Dem.)

Legislative District 1 - Italy, Jerusalem, Middlesex (2 years, four seats): Edward A. Bronson (Rep., Cons.);Timothy Cutler (Rep., Cons.), Douglas Paddock (Rep., Cons.), K Dixon Zorovich (Dem.); Patrick Killen (Rep.). Bronson, Cutler, and Paddock are incumbents.

Legislative District 2 - Benton, Potter, Torrey (2 years, three seats) Terry L. Button  (Rep.); Peggy Focarino (Dem.); Richard L. Willson (Rep. Cons.); Richard J. Harper (Rep.). Button and Willson are incumbents.

Legislative District 3 - Milo (2 years, four seats) P. Earle Gleason (Rep.), Leslie Church (Rep.), Daniel Banach (Rep.); Carlie Chilson (Rep.); Valerie Brechko (Dem); Teresa Hoban (Dem.). Gleason, Church, Banach and Chilson are incumbents.

Legislative District 4 - Barrington, Starkey (2 years, three seats) William R. Holgate (Rep.); Bonnie L. Percy (Rep.); James P. Multer (Rep.). All three are incumbents.


Barrington: Incumbent Supervisor Steven Perry (Rep.) is seeking re-election, and three Republicans are running for two 4-year terms on the town board, forcing a primary. They are incumbent Calvin Crosby and newcomers Steve Brigham and Thomas J. Petro III. Mark E. Lord (Rep. Cons.) is seeking election to the 4-year term on the town justice seat.

Benton: Three Republicans will force a primary for the Town Highway Superintendent position here. Douglas G. Marchionda Jr., Hayson Hoover, and Brian Champlin are each seeking the seat being vacated by retiring  superintendent Jeffrey Mann. Conservative Steven Vaughan has also filed a petition.

Incumbent Supervisor John E. Predergast is seeking re-election, and two Republican incumbents, Alan Tomion and Richard J. Harper, are running for re-election to 2-year terms on the town board, as is Bill Roege, a Democrat. Town Clerk/Tax Collector Bobbi Wolfe (Rep) is seeking re-election, and incumbent Justice David J. Grace (Rep.) is also seeking re-election.

Italy: All the petitions here have been filed by Republicans. Richard C. Craig, currently a town council member, is seeking the town supervisor position, a 2-year term. Current Supervisor Margaret Dunn has not filed party petitions. Deborah J. Craig is seeking re-election to her town clerk/tax collector seat. Debra Cook and Benjamin Dempsey are seeking election to two 4-year terms on the town council. Steve Faulkner, incumbent highway superintendent, is also seeking re-election. No one has submitted party petitions for the town justice position with a 4-year term.

Jerusalem: Incumbent Supervisor Patrick Killen (Rep.) will face a challenge from Jamie Sisson (Rep.), who currently sits on the town board, in a Republican primary. The winner of that contest will face Democrat K. Dixon Zorovich in the general election. Incumbents Paul R. Anderson (Rep.) and Daryl H. Jones (Rep.) will also face a primary challenge from newcomer Stephen L. Castner (Rep.) for two seats on the town council.

Incumbent Town Clerk Sheila McMichael (Rep.) will not face any party challenge for the 4-year term, and newcomer Anthony Hurd (Rep.) is looking for support to win the Highway Superintendent’s 4-year term. Rob Martin is not seeking re-election.

Middlesex: All petitions filed here are Republican. Incumbents seeking re-election are Supervisor Wayne Dunton (2 years), Town Clerk/Tax Collector Lynnette Miller (2 years), Councilman Leon Button (4 years), and Highway Superintendent Todd Conaway (2 years). Denise Adam has filed petitions for the second council seat on the ballot.

Milo: Incumbent Supervisor Leslie Church is unopposed for the Republican line, and incumbent council members Dale Hallings and Arden Sorensen Jr. are both seeking re-election. Democrats Valerie Brechko and Mildred Phillips-Espana are also seeking the two council seats with 4-year terms.

Potter: All petitions were submitted by incumbent Republicans. Larry Lewis and June Pendleton will be listed on the Republican line for two town council seats with 4-year terms, and Deborah Huff-Tober is running for re-election to the 4-year Town Justice term.

Starkey: Only one candidate for town council submitted party petitions for two seats on the ballot for town council, but one of the incumbents whose term is up is not registered in a party. Newcomer Jeremy Hall has filed petitions to run on the Democratic line. Jack Ossont occupies the second seat that will be elected. He is listed as unaffiliated. Incumbent Republican Frederick Shoemaker did not file petitions. Incumbent Supervisor George Lawson has filed Republican petitions, as has Town Clerk/Tax Collector/Registrar Candace Iszard. Incumbent Highway Superintendent Ralph Warren and Town Justice Helen Halbritter, both Republicans have also filed petitions. All Starkey positions are 4-year terms except the highway superintendent’s which is 2 years.

Torrey: All petitions filed in Torrey come from incumbents. Supervisor Patrick Flynn (Rep.), Town Clerk/Tax Collector Betty Daggett, Highway Superintendent Timothy Chambers, and Town Justice George Thompson will all be listed on the Republican line. Thompson’s term is 4 years, and the others are 2 years. Council members Peter Martini and Lawrence Martin have filed Democratic petitions for 4-year terms.

The first day to sign independent petitions is April 16. Those petitions must be filed with the Board of Elections between May 21 and 28.

The deadline to register in person to vote in the June 25 primary is May 31. Mailed registrations must be postmarked no later than May 31 and received no later than June 5.

For details, visit