Voting in 2020 during the pandemic

John Christensen
The Chronicle-Express

Options exist for voters worried about the spread of COVID-19

YATES COUNTY — The Yates County Board of Elections has posted their official public notice of the General Election ballot for  Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2020. Election Commissioners Robert F. Brechko and Robert H. Schwarting remind voters that polling sites will be open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. on election day, but alternatives and options exist for voters who want to fulfill their civic duty but are concerned about the transmission of COVID-19 during the pandemic. 

Table of polling site locations in Yates County.

Absentee Ballots

The last day to obtain an absentee ballot in person at the Board Office at 417 Liberty Street in Penn Yan is by 5 p.m. Monday, Nov. 2. 

Absentee ballots must be postmarked by Tuesday, Nov. 3, or delivered to any poll site by Nov. 3.

Early Voting

Early voting will start Saturday, Oct. 24 at the Yates County Building and will continue daily through Nov. 1. Visit our web site at for dates and times

The Candidates

The official list of candidates to be voted for in the election for the respective offices in the 23rd U.S. Congressional District, the 132nd N.Y. State Assembly District, and the 58th N.Y. State Senate District with their parties are:

President and Vice President

  • Joseph Biden & Kamala Harris - Democratic, Working Families 
  • Donald Trump & Michael Pence - Republican, Conservative 
  • Howie Hawkins & Angela Nicole Walker – Green 
  • Jo Jorgensen & Jeremy Cohen – Libertarian 
  • Brock Pierce & Karla Ballard – Independence 

Supreme Court Justice, 7th Judicial District

  • Gino Nitti – Democratic
  • William Gargan – Democratic
  • Julia Cianca – Democratic, Working Families
  • Stephen Lindley – Democratic, Republican, Conservative, Working Families, Independence
  • Dan Doyle – Republican, Conservative, Working Families, Independence
  • Sam Valleriani – Republican, Conservative, Working Families, Independence 
  • Vince Dinolfo – Republican, Conservative, Independence 

Representative in U.S. Congress

  • Tracy Mitrano – Democratic, Working Families
  • Tom Reed – Republican, Conservative, Independence
  • Andrew M. Kolstee – Libertarian

State Senate, 58th District

  • Leslie Danks Burke – Democratic, Working Families, SAM
  • Thomas O’Mara – Republican, Conservative, Independence

State Assembly, 132nd District

  • Philip A Palmesano – Republican, Conservative, Independence

Yates County Coroner

  • Ronald Dailey - Republican

Town Council Candidates (Jerusalem only)

Town Of Jerusalem Town Council

  • K. Dixon Zorovich – Democratic
  • Ritchie Lent – Republican

Yates County Propositions

Two propositions that will significantly restructure the election of Yates County Legislators and the management of county finances are also to be decided by the voters. The propositions are located on the reverse side of the ballot.

• Proposition 1

Shall the local law enacted by the Yates County Legislature on June 8, 2020, entitled “A Local Law Providing for a Change in the Term of the Legislators on the Yates County Legislature”, which modifies the terms of the Yates County Legislators so that no more than one-half of said Legislators are elected in any given election year by staggering their terms and also amends the term length of the Yates County Legislators, as follows:

(i) the four Legislators elected in District 1 and the three Legislators elected in District 2 shall serve four-year terms commencing January 1, 2022, and thereafter said terms shall be for four years 

(ii) the four Legislators elected in District 3 and the three Legislators elected in District 4 shall serve a two-year term commencing January 1, 2020, and thereafter said terms shall be for four years, be approved?

• Proposition 2

Shall the Local Law enacted by the Yates County Legislature on July 27, 2020, entitled “Local Law Retaining the Elected County Treasurer and Assigning Certain Powers and Duties to an Appointed Director of Finance”, which establishes the Department of Finance, effective January 1, 2022, to be headed by a Director of Finance appointed by the Yates County Legislature and retains the elected position of County Treasurer; wherein certain powers and duties of the County Treasurer would be curtailed and assigned to the Director of Finance, be approved?