New American Legion officers installed

American Legion

PENN YAN — The Johnson-Costello Post #355, American Legion in Penn Yan elected and installed new officers at its meeting June 8. 

Newly elected/installed officers of the Johnson-Costello American Legion Post #355, Penn Yan: Outgoing Commander Ellen Hey, Chaplain Jack Clancy, Treasurer Andy Swarthout, 3rd Vice-Commander Leigh Ackart, 1st Vice-Commander Mark Moon and Commander Doug Gibbs.  Not shown: 2nd Vice-Commander Brian Shriver

All were elected unanimously, and were installed in a ceremony conducted by Department of New York Judge Advocate W. Patrick Falvey.

Officers elected to serve for the 2022-23 Legion year are: 

  • Commander Doug Gibbs
  • 1st Vice-Commander Mark Moon
  • 2nd Vice-Commander Brian Shriver
  • 3rd Vice-Commander Leigh Ackart
  • Adjutant Tim Yetter
  • Treasurer Andy Swarthout
  • Chaplain Jack Clancy.

Six members were elected to serve on the Executive Committee: Ellen Hey, Herb Snyder, Daryl Jones, Doug Wayand, Dave Fleming, and Gary Fudge.