Yates listed in disaster area

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 43 New York counties, including Yates County, as primary natural disaster areas. Producers who suffered losses due to recent disaster events may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in Albany, Allegany, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Livingston, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Washington, Wyoming, and Yates counties, who suffered losses due to excessive rain that has occurred since April 1, 2019, are eligible to apply. Producers in the contiguous New York counties are also eligible to apply for emergency loans. The deadline to apply is Sept. 29, 2020.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. Contact the local USDA service center for details on eligibility requirements and application procedures. Details are also available online at farmers.gov/recover.