Pulteney fire fighters are honored

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express
Pulteney Fire Department members in photo from left are Assistant Chief Brady Hill, Firefighter of the Year Jim Sprague and Chief Ken Forenz

The Pulteney Fire Department held its Annual Banquet Nov.13 at the Pulteney Fire Hall in Pulteney. Approximately 60 fire department members and guests attended, along with County and Town officials.    

Jim Sprague was given the Pulteney Volunteer Fire Department 2010 Firefighter of the Year Award. This award is given annually to a Pulteney Volunteer Fire Department member who has gone above and beyond the scope of his/her normal fire department duties in the past year. He received this award due to his work with the organization, training and mechanical assistance.

Annually years of service awards are given to members as they reach their 5-year anniversaries. The following members were recognized; Jason Tears 15 years, John Crane 25 years and Charlie Zimmerman 35 years.  Each member was recognized with a certificate and service pin.

Training highlights from 2010 were also noted by Chief Ken Forenz. Many certifications were attained and training programs attended by firefighters were recognized.

Relatives and friends  who make it possible for the department members to do what they do were also thanked for their support.