Fire, EMS volunteers honored at annual dinner

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express
John Murphy, who received the Roger Ribble Award is congratulated by Tom Murphy.

Before a crowd of more than 200 fellow fire fighters and emergency medical service volunteers on March 25, Penn Yan Fire Department Chief Rick Retorick accepted the Firefighter of the Year Award at the Annual Yates County Emergency Responders Graduation banquet.

The award was presented to the entire Penn Yan Fire Department for their work in protecting and saving the lives of several people at a house fire on Lake Street on Nov. 13, 2010.

Seven people were on the roof of the apartment house, while all the exits from the multiple apartments were at the back of the house, where the flames were located.

The Penn Yan firemen shared the honor of Firefighter of the Year with John Woods, a fire instructor and investigator. Woods was not present at the banquet.

Other major awards presented at the dinner included:

• EMS Provider of the Year Award, given to Ray Miller of Dundee, who is currently chief of the fire department for his seventh term. In presenting the award to Miller, Diane Caves, Deputy Director of Emergency Management said, “He’s seen it all. He’s dedicated, and he expects the best from others. This (award) is long overdue.”

• Robert Hathaway Officer of the Year Award, given to retired Director of Emergency Management Glen Miller, who said he was honored to accept the award that was given in memory of his friend, the late Branchport Fire Chief.

• Roger Ribble Award, given to John Murphy, past chief of the Benton Fire Department and Deputy Fire Coordinator. “He knows the importance of good leadership, and he is much respected around the county,” said Retorick, who presented the award. Retorick said as a leader on the task force to replace Glen Miller following his retirement, “He (Murphy) has fought hard for what he felt was right.”

Awards for training were given to:

• Joy Perry, of the Dundee Fire Department Emergency Squad, for completing the most individual EMS training hours in 2010 — 191.

• Scott Voak, of the Bellona Fire Department, for completing the most individual fire training hours in 2010 —155.

• Alex Kuehne, of the Penn Yan Fire Department and Penn Yan Area Volunteer Ambulance Corps, for completeing the most individual combined fire and EMS training in 2010 — 152.

In all, 295 students earned 699 certificates in 11,626 hours of training in 2010.

Training hours by departments:

Bellona: 17 students earned 57 certificates in 1,019 hours.

Benton: 29 students earned 62 certificates in 1,176 hours.

Branchport/Keuka Park: 27 students earned 74 certificates in 1,384 hours.

Dresden: 15 students earned 30 certificates in 299 hours.

Dundee: 24 students earned 75 certificates in 1,139 hours.

Dundee Emergency Squad: 10 students earned 30 certificates in 839 hours.

Himrod: 27 students earned 86 certificates in 1,530 hours.

Middlesex: 16 students earned 19 certificates in 629 hours.

Penn Yan Fire Department: 35 students earned 96 certificates in 1,038 hours.

Potter: four students earned four certificates in 297 hours.

Rushville: four students earned five certificates in 100 hours.

Other agencies that participated in Yates County trainings included Penn Yan Police Department, Yates County Sheriff’s Department, Geneva, Hall, Knoxville, Pa., Pulteney, Shelter Island, Southport, Watkins Glen and West Lake Road Fire Departments.