Penn Yan, Dundee, Marcus Whitman Budgets approved

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express

Voters in the Penn Yan, Dundee and Marcus Whitman Central Schools approved budgets and other referendums and re-elected board members on May 20.

In Penn Yan, the budget was approved by a vote of 816 to 521. Voters approved a referendum to establish a fund for stadium improvements by a vote of 819 to 492. They approved establishing a fund for technology reserves by a vote of 771 to 532.

The three incumbent  board members were re-elected, with Nancy Scher taking the most votes, 967. Rennee Thayer received 904 and Michael Van Wormer received 721. Challenger Bret Boesen received 609 votes.

In Dundee, voters approved the budget by a vote of 250 to 41. The proposition for providing funds to the Dundee Public Library by a vote of 240 to 47.

Incumbent board members Joseph Capurso (258) and John Frederick (235) were returned to the board. They are joined by Carl Christensen, who received 222 votes. Fourteen voters cast write-in ballots for Jane Lawson, long time board member who decided to not seek re-election.

The Marcus Whitman district’s $28,862,202 spending plan was approved, 371 votes to 303. Also approved — by a vote of 462 to 178 — was $21,000 in funding for the Gorham Free Library, $2,500 for the town of Middlesex Library and $1,680 for the village of Rushville Library.

The school board race featured three candidates running uncontested for three seats.

Margaret Ball, William Gowan and incumbent board President Mary Evans. They received 433, 467 and 530 votes, respectively.