Penn Yan Academy celebratres Academic Excellence Day

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express
Penn Yan Academy students who recieved Academic plaques for maintaining a Grade Point Average of 90 or better for three years gather for a group photo.

PENN?YAN — On Tuesday, Nov. 18 Penn Yan Academy held the 15th annual Academic Excellence Day Ceremony. 

This year, 76 students were recognized for achieving a Grade Point Average of 90 or better during the 2007-2008 school year.  

There were 42  letters, 21  pins, and 13  plaques awarded. Letter recipients have earned a 90 or better G.P.A. for one year, pin recipients for two years, and plaque recipients for three years. 

The morning began with a breakfast for the recipients and their families, followed by an assembly program for the entire school body.

Penn Yan Mayor Douglas G. Marchionda Jr. read a proclamation naming Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2008 as Academic Excellence Day in the Village of Penn Yan.  Congratulatory remarks were made by Superintendent Ann Orman and by Academy Principal Keith Mathews.

The keynote speaker was Dr. Barbara Risser, President of Finger Lakes Community College.  Mathews and Risser presented the recipients with their awards.

The Academic Excellence Day Program is sponsored by the Penn Yan Teachers Association, the Penn Yan Academy PTG, the Penn Yan Academy staff, and the Penn Yan Academy Student Council.

Academic Letter


Kristen Andersen

Hilary  Baxter

Alexander Bodine

Karin  Boesen

Daniel Burdette

Katherine Carpenter

Kaitlyn Coriale

Jesse Cramer

Benjamin Dinehart

Katelyn Disbrow

Cara Elias

Nayely Feria-Ortiz

Taylor Haus

Madison Hill

Meg Hopkins

Michael Johnson

Catherine Kratochvil

Kyle Meyers

Tesia Moore

Kaleigh Neuberger

Kaeleigh Nissen

Matthew Parish

Brenda Parkhurst

Alexandra Perl

Jonah Pielow

Johnathon Presher

Rachael Roddenbery

Kara Sage

Molly Schewe

Lindsay Simpson

Miles Snyder

James Spears

Benjamin Spencer

Everett Spencer

Zachary Spencer

Amy Stuart

Casey Switzer

Chelsea L Travis

Natalie Wagaman

Morgan Wigden

Baird Wilber

Hannah Zelazny

Academic Pin


Morgan Basler

Ariel Christensen

April Doi

Simon Gaston

Joel Hall

Bryan Hill

Eric Jameson

Brittany Jensen

Leighann Marble

Elizabeth Martens

Christine Mosich

Eric Multer

Bethany Parsons

Taira Perrault

Joshua Sheldon

Samantha Sisson

Daniel Spencer

Alice Swarthout

Braegar Taaffe

Stephanie Voak

Brooke Wickham

Academic Plaque


Andrew Bodine

David Burdette

Si Hwa Choi

Melissa Colon

Avary Elias

Rainer Hamm

Kevin Johnson

Morgan Potts

Robert Ross

Kelsey Strouse

Nathan Travis

Elizabeth Weeden

James Willson

Penn Yan Academy students who recieved Academic pins for maintaining a Grade Point Average of 90 or better for two years gather for a group photo.