Capurso won’t seek president’s post again

Gwen Chamberlain

When the Dundee Central School Board holds its annual organizational meeting on July 14, a new president will be elected.

President Joseph Capurso announced that he will not accept a nomination for the president’s seat, although he will continue to serve on the board.

Capurso has been president for five years. In making his announcement, he said he wants to give others time to think about who they would like to see serve as president. He said he doesn’t feel he has time to commit to the president’s post.

Other items on the Dundee School Board’s agenda June 9 included:

• CAPITAL PROJECT: Excavation work continues on the football field, where workers have found additional drainage issues to resolve. According to Board Vice President Jim Koehler, who is chairman of the building committee, the field work is nearly on schedule and is well within the budget.

He also noted that contractors working on the HVAC in the 1972 wing have found asbestos that will need to be removed. The major portion of the interior work will begin after the school year ends.

• SPORTS CALENDAR: Athletic Director Jennifer Hutches demonstrated the improvements and additions she’s making to the athletic’s section of the school’s website.

By adding the sports schedule and team information to the website, the sports schedule will not need to be included on the hard copy of the school calendar. Having a section on the school’s website eliminates the need to pay another service to post the schedules. Also, a web-based calendar can be updated to account for schedule changes.

Sections for team information, communication for parents, awards, records and championships will also be added.

• SHARED SERVICES: The board unanimously agreed to accept a proposal from Western New York Educational Service Council to complete a feasibility study of sharing services with the Penn Yan and Marcus Whitman Central Schools. The Penn Yan School Board approved the proposal June 8.

The Marcus Whitman School Board was expected to act on the proposal at its June 13 meeting.

• TENURE: The board approved tenure to the following teachers and administrators: Ashley Skorusa, elementary; Kyle Knapton, special subjects (music); Julie Dunkelberger, special subjects (general special education); Kevin Housel, academics (foreign language); Todd DeRue, special subjects (general special education) and Christopher Arnold, administrator.