Middle School stages ‘The Music Man Jr.’

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express
The cast of Music Man Jr. rehearse for this week's performance of the musical.

Master showman Harold Hill is in town, and he’s got “seventy-six trombones” in tow.

Can upright, uptight Marian, the town librarian, resist his powerful allure? Adapted from the timeless Broadway classic by Meredith Willson, who also wrote the music and lyrics and based on a story he wrote with Franklin Lacey, “The Music Man Jr.” is a one act, G-rated youth version of the long-running, award winning Broadway show. The result is family entertainment at its best – a bold, brassy show that will have the whole town clapping and cheering.

The story follows fast-talking traveling salesman Harold Hill as he cons the people of River City, Iowa into buying instruments and uniforms for a boys’ band he vows to organize.

The catch? He doesn’t know a trombone from a treble clef. His plans to skip town with the cash are foiled when he falls for Marian, whose belief in Harold’s powers just might help him succeed in the end in spite of himself.

With all the songs many will remember from the Oscar winning film version with Robert Preston, Shirley Jones, Buddy Hackett, and a young Ron Howard, “Music Man Jr.” provides a challenge for young performers to show their growing abilities. “This is a group of kids I know can handle a Broadway classic like this,” says PYMS Principal Kelley Johnson.

Directed by teachers Rebekah Prine and Caroll Cummings, “The Music Man Jr.” stars Garrett Golden as Harold Hill, and Jenna Curbeau as Marian Paroo.


Harold Hill – Garrett Golden

Marian Paroo – Jenna Curbeau


Ewart Dunlop/Traveling Salesman #2 – Zack Blauvelt

Oliver Hix/Traveling Salesman #3 – Juan España

Jacey Squires/Traveling Salesman #4 – Noah Detar

Olin Britt/Traveling Salesman #5 – Paul Gaston

Mayor Shinn – Ryan Petersen

Eulalie Shinn – Natalie Colon

Zaneeta Shinn – Jennalyn Conley

Gracie Shinn – Alexis Marble

Marcellus Washburn/Traveling Salesman #1 – Brayden Webber

Winthrop Paroo – Owen McFarland

Mrs. Paroo – Alex Cox

Amaryllis – Addison Webber

Charlie Cowell – Collin Cummings

Conductor & Constable Locke – Brennan Dailey

Tommy Djilas/ Traveling Salesman #6 – Peter Nicholson

Farmer – Jacob Eskildsen

Farmer’s Wife – Kaitlyn Hamm


Alma Hix – Gwen Smith

Maud Dunlop – Cami Webber

Mrs. Squires – Maci Nicholson

Ethel Tofflemier – Alycia Moravec

Lady #1 – Mckelvie Jensen

Lady #2 – Triana Burgos-Farnan

Lady #3 – Emily Wunder

Lady #4 – Ashley Reed

Lady #5 – Maddie Flynn

Lady #6 – Abby Schroo

Lady #7 – Montana Flores

Lady #8 – Ellyn Heusler

Lady #9 – Shelby Woodard


Girl #1 - Lexi Strong

Girl #2 - Rielly Stewart

Girl #3 - Caitlin Wunder

Girl #4 - Mia Bodine

Girl #5 - Sarah Loucks

Girl #6 - Angel Chilson

Girl #7 - Hanna Brodmann

Girl #8 - Kailee McCormick


Tom Boy #1 - Morgan Scofield

Tom Boy #2 - Chloe Madigan

Tom Boy #3 - Autumn Mitchell