Penn Yan names scholar athletes

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express
Football scholar athletes. From left (front) James Burdette, John Martisch, Myles Volz, Todd Mills and Brendan Bolger; (back) Raymond Mashewske, Johnathon Presher, Benjamin Spencer, Zachary Spencer, Reid Castner, Adam Stork. Absent -	Brett McMichael

The Penn Yan Academy Athletic Department recently announced the interscholastic athlete teams that have earned recognition as scholar athlete teams for the fall 2010 sports season.

The New York State Public High School Athletic Association sponsors awards recognizing academic excellence. The awards are based on a team concept of academic achievement intended to be an incentive for all team members to raise their individual grades to positively affect their team's success.

Scholar Athlete teams must be a varsity team with the minimum team composite grade average of 90 percent, based on a designated number of team members for each sport.

Each individual who qualifies for this award receives a recognition pin while the school receives a certificate for display.

The Penn Yan Academy Department of Interscholastic Athletics announces the following awards:

Varsity Boys Cross Country: Alexander Bodine, Benjamin Falter, Robert Jensen, Paul Larzelere, Corey Rapp, Miles Snyder, Tyler Waugh (Coach Terry Test);

Varsity Girls Cross Country: Rachel Colaneri, Hannah Gaston, Megan Lafferty, Stephanie Lee, Melissa Multer, Carolyn Smith, Natalie Wagaman (Coach Terry Test)

Varsity Football: Brendan Bolger, James Burdette, Reid Castner, John Martisch, Raymond Mashewske, Brett McMichael, Todd Mills, Johnathon Presher, Benjamin Spencer, Zachary Spencer, Adam Stork, Myles Volz (Coach Bill LaRock)

Varsity Boys Soccer: Daniel Brezinsky, Daniel Burdette, Benjamin Dinehart, Eric Johnson, Michael Johnson, Evan Lloyd, Kyle Meyers, Jonah Pielow, Geoffrey Rouin, Everett Spencer, Michael Thiesmeyer, David Travis, Christopher Weeden (Coach Jonathan MacKercahr)

Varsity Girls Tennis: Kristen Andersen, Hilary Baxter, Katherine Carpenter, Kaitlyn Coriale, Arion Dame-Rohring, Emily Doi, Rachel Gaston, Madison Hill, Kara Hollowell (Coach Nathan Kraemer).

The Varsity Fall Cheerleading team received the PYA Scholar/Athlete Team Award. Cheerleaders who were recognized were: Cierra Bloom, Allie Gleason, Nicole Gleason, Ashley Guzewicz, Brittany Leiter, Samantha Martin, Sierra Webster (Coach Karen Jensen).

More scholar athlete photos inside.