Penn Yan winter Scholar Athletes

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express
PYA Scholar/Athlete Girls Varsity Basketball players are (from left) Kaleigh Neuberger, Brianna Bush, Morgan Simmons, Chelsie Travis and Rachael Roddenbury Absent: Kate Disbrow, Katrina Wright.

The New York State Public High School Athletic Association, Inc. believes that the athletic field of competition is an extension of the classroom. In an effort to recognize academic excellence coupled with athletic participation, the NYSPHSAA, Inc.sponsors this award, based on a team concept of academic achievement, intended to be an incentive for all team members to raise their individual GPA to positively affect their team’s success.

Scholar Athlete teams must be a Varsity team, with the minimum Team Composite Grade Average of 90 percent, based on a designated number of team members for each sport.

Each individual who qualifies for this award receives a recognition pin while the school receives a certificate for display. The Perm Yan Academy Department of Interscholastic

Athletics is proud to announce the following awards:

Varsity Girls Basketball: Brianna Bush, Kate Disbrow, Kaleigh Neuberger, Rachael Roddenbery, Morgan Simmons, Chelsie Travis, and Katrina Wright, (Coach nErin Cunningham);

Varsity Wrestling: Aaron Bodine, Reid Castner, Connor Jensen, Courtney Lafler, Nicholas Marchionda, Raymond Mashewske, Justin Niver, Brendan Peek, Miles Snyder, Johnathon Presher and Michael Peacock (Coach Ted Cox).

PYA Scholar/Athlete Team Award: Varsity Girls Cheerleading: Allie Gleason, Ashley Guzewicz, Brittany Leiter, Samantha Martin, Shawna Nielsen, Lilia Scheel, Leah Swarthout (Coach Karen Jensen)

PYA Scholar/Athlete Wrestlers are (from left) Front: Courtney Lafler, Brendan Peek and Justin Niver; Back: Connor Jensen, Raymond Mashewske and Aaron Bodine; Absent Reid Castner, Nicholas Marchionda, Miles Snyder, Johnathon Presher and Michael Peacock.