Kelly Lickert is Coach of the Year

Gary Pinneo
Kelly Lickert

The Keuka College women’s lacrosse team swept the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) regular season and tournament titles as well as the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) tournament title for the second year in a row.

In doing so, the Storm players and its coach were well represented on the All-NEAC teams.

Head coach Kelly Lickert was an easy choice for NEAC Coach of the Year after leading her team to a perfect 7-0 regular season and a 12-1 overall record.

Senior sensation Brandy Shafer (Eastridge) was selected as the NEAC Player of the Year, as well as earning a spot on the All-NEAC first team.  Shafer led Keuka with 50 goals and 65 points while finishing third on the team with 15 assists.  The midfielder, who was selected as the NEAC Tournament MVP,  also led the Storm with 26 caused turnovers and 35 draw controls while adding 38 ground balls.  

Joining Shafer on the All-NEAC first team were seniors Laura Dougherty (Geneva) and Brittany Murray (Heuvelton).  

Dougherty led Keuka with 26 assists, and finished second overall in scoring with 18 goals and 44 points.  Murray was third on the team in scoring with 25 goals, 12 assists, and 37 points while leading the squad with 48 ground balls.

Freshman attacker Maggie Bonafede (Churchville-Chili) was selected to the All-NEAC second team after finishing fourth on the team in scoring with 19 goals, 16 assists, and 35 points.  The rookie added two game-winning goals and 23 draw controls.

Selected to the All-NEAC third team were freshman Taylor Smith (Webster Schroeder), sophomore Sarah Capek (Horseheads), and freshman Kay Kostuk (Cortland).