Penn Yan Mustangs are Class C Champions again

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express
The Penn Yan Mustangs celebrate their victory over Livonia in the Section V Class C championship game May 29.

The Penn Yan Mustangs won their second consecutive Class C championship crown on May 29, defeating Livonia 14-6 at St. John Fisher College.

This is Penn Yan's 16th Sectional crown since 1988 and it's the third time the Penn Yan Orange and Blue has defeated the Livonia Blue and Orange.

The Mustangs will travel to Hamburg for a 1 p.m. game on Saturday, where they will face the Class C champion — either Silver Creek (15-1) or Akron (14-3). LaxPower lists Penn Yan (18-2) No. 4, Silver Creek No. 16 and Akron No. 42 in New York State Class C rankings. This is their first game in the New York State championship tournament.

Here is the report posted at

After a 30 minute storm delay, the Mustangs scored the first three goals and seven of the first eight in their victory. Livonia fought back to 8-4 in the third quarter but got no closer. The Mustangs scored the next five goals to lead 13-4 Penn Yan vs Livonia going into the final quarter. The Bulldogs outscored the Mustangs 2-1 in the final quarter.

Leading in scoring for Penn Yan was attackman Bradley Voigt with 4g-2a. Voigt was named to the All Tournament team for the Mustangs. Attackmen Rion Davison (3g-1a), Sean Emerson (3g) and Ryan Maciejewski (2g-2a) also scored for Penn Yan. All combined, the attack accounted for 12 of the 14 goals. Midfielders Nate Spoor and Jordan Owen rounded out the scoring for Penn Yan. Midfielder Brandon Grace won 16/21 (76%) face offs for Penn Yan. Grace and defenseman Kevin Kerrick each finished with seven ground balls. Davison finished with six for the Mustangs. The leading shooter for Penn Yan was Dylan Yonts. He finished with 13 shots with five on cage. Between the pipes, Brandon Maciejewski recorded four saves. He finished the four Section Five Tournament games with only 11 goals against including two shut outs and was named the MVP for the Class C Tournament.

Livonia was led in scoring by Wyatt Struble with 2g-2a. He was also named to the All Tournament Team. Attackmen Josh Wester (1g-2a) and Cody Cisco (2g) also scored for the Bulldogs. Bishopp finished with eight ground balls to lead his team. Midfielder Mitchell Kinney finished with seven ground balls and one goal for Livonia. Between the pipes, Ethan Jamison finished with 15 saves (52%).

All Tournament team

Penn Yan finished with six players named to the All Tournament team: Ryan Maciejewski, Rion Davison, Bradley Voigt, Dylan Yonts and Mike Thiesmeyer. Voigt, a sophomore, is No. 3 in total points scored, fourth in goals and fifth in assists in Section V statistics.  Yonts is 12th in total points and Ryan Maciejewski is 13th.

Brandon Maciejewski was named MVP in the cage for Penn Yan. At 70.04, he leads all Section V goalies in save percentage.

The book for Penn Yan: Rion Davison (3g-1a), Sean Emerson (3g), Corey Grace (1a), Brett McMichael (1a), Bradley Voigt (4g-2a), Chris Castle (1a), Matt Spoor (1g), Jordan Owen (1g), Ryan Maciejewski (2g-2a), Dylan Yonts (2a), Goaltending: Brandon Maciejewski 4s/6ga (48 mins)

The book for Livonia: Wyatt Struble (2g-2a), Cody Cisco (2g), Mitchell Kinney (1g), Josh Wester (1g-2a), Derek Bishopp (1a), Goaltending: Ethan Jamison 15s/14ga = 52% (48 mins)

The photos associated with this article, along with photos from several other games and events, are available for purchase here.

View and purchase other images taken by Photographer Mark Griffin from sporting events that he covers for The Chronicle-Express at his website.

The Penn Yan Mustangs hoist their Class C championship trophy after winning the Sectional title at St. John Fisher College on May 29.