Maciejewski scores twice as Saints clinch second straight NCAA D II national title

Staff Writer
The Chronicle Express
Ryan Maciejewski

Freshman midfielder Ryan Maciejewski of Penn Yan posted a pair of goals when the nationally top-ranked Limestone College (20-1) men’s lacrosse team used a 4-0 rally in the fourth quarter to clinch its second straight NCAA Division II National Championship with a 9-6 win over third-ranked Le Moyne College (16-3) May 24 at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

The Saints successfully defended last year’s national championship to win back-to-back titles for the first time in a rich program history. Limestone finishes the season 20-1 overall, setting the NCAA Division II record for most wins in a season, and is an impressive 39-2 over the last two years.

Junior midfielder Mike Messenger (Surry, British Columbia) led the charge with four goals on the day, including three huge scores in the fourth quarter, and finished with an assist to earn National Championship Most Outstanding Player honors. He wraps up a solid 2015 campaign with 55 goals.

Juniors Jordan Saunderson (Oshawa, Ontario) and Reid Reinholdt (Port Moody, British Columbia) each added two assists.

Junior keeper Patrick Sheridan (Fairport) was solid in between the pipes, registering 11 saves for the game to set an NCAA record with his 20th win of the year. He came up especially big in the second quarter, recording six saves to hold the Dolphins scoreless.

Defensively, the Saints limited Le Moyne’s high-powered attack to just a pair of shot attempts over the final 15 minutes and just 10 shots overall in the second half.

Limestone finished with a 44-25 advantage in shots attempted and a 38-28 margin in groundballs. The Saints converted 14-of-15 clears on the day and went 2-for-4 on extra-man opportunities.

For the full report visit